1. You can Archive a User Role using Archive Role option in its tools area
If a User Role has assigned Users you will see an alert
2. Confirm your decision to Archive
3. See Archived User Roles under the Archived tab
To Unarchive a User Role use Unarchive User Role option in its tools area
You can not Archive & Unarchive Default User Roles.
If you are not an administrator, you will need to have permission to Archive & Unarchive a User Role. This will depend on a User Role assigned to you by your Administrator.